Back Daily News -

Parliamentary Standing Committees


All meetings of parliamentary standing committees have been deferred indefinitely because of the COVID-19 outbreak.


1. Parliamentary Committee means a Committee which

a) Appointed or elected by the houses of parliament or

b) Nominated by the chairpersons of respective houses of parliament.

c) Works under the direction of the chairpersons

d) Presents its report to the House or the chairpersons

2. The Constitution of India mentions these committees but doesn’t make any specific provisions regarding their composition, tenure, functions.

Types of committees

Parliamentary Committees are of two kinds by nature

1. Standing Committees

a) They are Permanent and regular committees.

b) They are constituted from time to time in pursuance of the provisions of an Act of Parliament or Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha.

c) The work of these Committees is continuous in nature.

d) Examples- Financial Committees, Department-related standing committees, etc.

2. Ad hoc Committees

a) They are appointed for a specific purpose.

b) They cease to exist when they finish the task assigned to them and submit a report.

c) Examples- Select and Joint Committees on Bills, Railway Convention Committee, etc.

Classification of Standing Committees

Parliamentary Standing Committees are generally classified as

1. Financial Committees

a) Public Accounts Committee

b) Estimates Committee

c) Committee on Public Undertakings

2. Departmentally Related Standing Committees.

3. Committees to Inquire

a) Committee on Petitions

b) Committee of Privileges

c) Ethics Committee

4. Business-related committees

a) Business Advisory Committee

b) Committee on Private Members’ Bills and Resolutions

c) Rules Committee

Source- The Hindu and Indian Polity- M. Laxmikanth